Exspans Systems Inc Logo home

Forum

Author   Comment  
Grazillda

Reply with quote  #1 
I am a systems programmer in health care. I want to thank you for inviting me to a place where I can ask for help and support and to meet other. I have been in my current position for just over 5 years. We were already using AutoMan when I came here and the first thing I had to do was write a GAL program to make sure that an applications suite for payroll was run on time. I used an example from the Tips and Techniques manual to do it. So easy to understand. BTW that manual is one of the strangest tech manuals I have seen. It has no real order to it. I have been asked to write a program that displays a menu for operators to bring system components up and down. I am going to wait till next month, after we have upgraded to V3.2 and use configs to do it.
Zamin

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi Grazillda, happy to meet you, and welcome to the forum. I agree with you about that manual. It only shows basic techniques and you have to use them to develop a full program. We need some sort of code sharing thread in here.
zboxassist

Reply with quote  #3 
I am a Systems Architect (a.k.a. Systems Programmer). I work for a Health Care company that has converted to EPIC and sadly is in the process of phasing out the mainframe. Of course, that is no fault of AutoMan which is a great product with fantastic vendor support. I’ve lost count of the years (I think 9 or 10), but Exspans has made numerous enhancements, given me invaluable tips and hints.

Reply with quote  #4 
Hi zboxassist, delighted to have you on board
Grazillda

Reply with quote  #5 
Nice to meet you zboxassist. Nice handle. Does it mean you like to assist people with their z series problems? I've lost count of all the hints and tips they have given me. They have helped me have a simple to run z/OS environment. It just runs itself now.
zboxassist

Reply with quote  #6